Tuesday, January 22, 2019

Music In Scotland News - Two New CD Releases

Music In Scotland News - Two New CD Releases

New Release

New Release

Click On This Link For Web Version Of This Newsletter

To Order an item, click on the product image or product link.

Special Offer

Special Offer

£1.00 off when you order £30 of goods or more. Offer ends 27th January 2019. Coupon Code Required: JAN22019 Coupon Code must be entered in the www.MusicInScotland.com site.

Subscribe / Unsubscribe

Don’t miss out, please let us send you our latest offers and reductions.

Click here to Subscribe / Unsubscribe to our newsletters
Claire Hastings - Those Who Roam

Claire Hastings - Those Who Roam


Those Who Roam is the much-awaited second album from former BBC Young Traditional Musician of the Year Claire Hastings. It is a blend of original and traditional songs under the theme of journeys, and follows the success of Claire’s debut album ‘Between River and Railway’ released in 2016.

'An exquisite album' SONGLINES

'A genuine treat' FATEA

The album features accomplished musicians Jenn Butterworth (guitar), Laura Wilkie (fiddle), Thomas Gibbs (piano) and Andrew Waite (accordion). It was recorded, mixed and mastered at Castlesound Studios by engineer Stuart Hamilton alongside producer Inge Thomson.
The album showcases the versatility of Claire’s style and repertoire, with some interesting stories along the way.

1. The Lothian Hairst
2. Jack The Sailor
3. Seven Gypsies
4. Sailin's A Weary Life
5. Fair Weather Begger
6. Logie O' Buchan
7. Noble Helen Of Cluden
8. Jamie Raeburn
9. King Of California
10. Ten Thousand Miles
Price: £10.99

Katherine Campbell - Robert Burns: Tune Unknown

Katherine Campbell - Robert Burns: Tune Unknown


In this special release for Burns Day 2019, Burns expert Katherine Campbell brings together 10 songs from the Bard for which the original tune is unknown. Sometimes this is because the music has been lost, e.g. the tune entitled ‘The Banks of Cree’, or sometimes it is because we don’t know what the original tune actually was. In one unusual case, ‘O Raging Fortune’s Withering Blast’, Burns composed his own melody which is unfortunately not extant.

Burns’s usual method of song composition was to start with a pre-existing melody, often drawn from the Scottish song or fiddle repertoire, and then to write lyrics to it. In the case of this CD, this process has been reversed, as the starting point has been Burns’s beautifully-crafted words, which often relate to his own personal experience.

1. In Tarbolton, Ye Ken
2. Wi' Braw New Branks in Meikle Pride
3. O, Raging Fortune's Withering Blasts
4. Now Spring Has Clad the Grove in Green
5. If Ye Gae Up to Yon Hill-Tap
6. Her Flowing Locks, the Raven's Wing
7. Here is the Glen and Here is the Bower
8. As I( Gaed Up By Yon Gate-End
9. The Cares o' Love
10. The Night Was Still
Price: £10.99

No comments: